What in the world are you talking about?

Today as I sat in class, I thought about how a majority of the internet’s content is aimless. Most people don’t have a purpose for writing online content, but instead simply want to say something (assumption #1). Going on a tangent (after class, of course), I wanted to see what the MVP’s of the blogging game were talking about, how they gained their reputation, and whether or not their content was centered around a goal. In summary:

(source: http://www.therichest.com/rich-list/world/worlds-10-top-earning-bloggers/)

 

  • Gina Trapani, Lifehacker

 

      1. $110,000 per month
      2. “Tips, hacks, and downloads for getting things done”

 

  • Perez Hilton (aka Mario Lavandeira)

 

      1. $200,000 – $400,000 per month
      2. PerezHilton.com — originally named PageSixSixSix.com– has become one of the leading go-to sites for celebrity news garnering over 300 million hits a month

 

  • Pete Cashmore, Mashable

 

      1. $560,000-$600,000 per month
      2. Mashable is a leading global media company that informs,inspires and entertains the digital generation. Mashable is redefining storytelling by documenting and shaping the digital revolution in a new voice, new formats and cutting-edge technologies to a uniquely dedicated audience of 45 million monthly unique visitors and 26 million social followers.

 

  • Michael Arrington, TechCrunch

 

    1. $500,000-$800,000 per month
    2. TechCrunch is a leading technology media property, dedicated to obsessively profiling startups, reviewing new Internet products, and breaking tech news.

So there they are: the big dawgs of blogging. The guys (and gals) who make upwards of half a million dollars PER MONTH sitting in their Tesla jotting down a few thoughts about a new, innovative app (assumption #2). I think it’s remarkable. Being a believer that the best way to get somewhere is to look toward who is there already, I have a lot more stalking to do on these figures. I should admit that I am not wholeheartedly committed to the famous blog lifestyle whatsoever. However, if I am going to write this blog, then I am going to publish my thoughts respectably.

      So my first step was to mind map. Mind mapping is my new favorite thing. For all of those mildly ADD, ambitious souls out there who only see the big picture but fail to plan for the logistics in their entirety, this method may be for you. Try LucidChart ($5/month) or mindmapmaker.org (FREE… but not as pretty…) This was my approach to defining my blog. My audience includes peer students, potential employers (blog link via portfolio on every application submitted), family and friends (they don’t matter as much and will love me no matter my contents consistency, I think, but still a valid audience group… assumption #3), and my professor who grades this weekly blog post.  My blog purpose is: “Providing an eternally optimistic, lighthearted perspective on how millennials should best navigate the transition from college to the “real world” through sharing personal experiences and what I wish I had known, my thoughts on trends in the “real world,” and a few occasional rants that will hopefully make your day a bit brighter. By writing this blog, I want to be perceived as a driven and motivated student, an outlet for humor, and someone who brings the room up and the tension down.  In the mindmap below, you will find my blog’s purpose, audience, and what I hope to accomplish through writing each week. Hopefully my thoughts in clarifying my blogging goals helped to provide clarity as to“what in the world you’re talking about” as well! Blog Content Mind Map  - New Page.jpeg

 

Leave a Reply

